Nominations announced for the All Party Parliamentary Jazz Awards 2022

The nominations have today been announced for the 2022 Parliamentary Jazz Awards. The Awards, organised by the All Party Parliamentary Jazz Group (APPJG) with the support of PizzaExpress Live. The recipients of the 2022 Parliamentary Jazz Awards will be announced on on Tuesday 5th July 2022. The Parliamentary Awards celebrate and recognise the vibrancy, diversity, talent and breadth of the jazz scene throughout the United Kingdom.

The award categories reflect the ever-increasing scope of talent from within the UK’s jazz scene: Jazz Vocalist of the Year; Jazz Instrumentalist of the Year; Jazz Album of the Year; Jazz Ensemble of the Year; Jazz Newcomer of the Year; Jazz Venue of the Year; Jazz Media Award; Jazz Education Award; and the Services to Jazz Award.

Following the online public vote for the Awards, the shortlist was then voted upon by a selection panel, that represent a broad cross-section of backgrounds united in their passion and knowledge of jazz. The winners, chosen by judging members of the All Party Parliamentary Jazz  Group (APPJG), will be announced on Tuesday 5th July 2022.

John Spellar MP, Co-Chair of APPJG, said: “These awards are a great opportunity to celebrate the talents and energies of the great musicians, educators, promoters, record labels, jazz organisations, blogs, jazz magazines and journalists who helped kept jazz flourishing.  These shortlists demonstrate the wealth of talent and commitment that exists in the British jazz scene. Now in its 17th year, the Parliamentary Jazz Awards honour the best of British jazz. MPs and Peers in the All Party Group are grateful to PizzaExpress Live for supporting the event.”

The full list of nominees is as follows:

Jazz Vocalist of the Year

Claire Martin

Emma Smith

Brigitte Beraha

Jo Harrop

Jazz Instrumentalist of the Year

Tony Kofi

Xhosa Cole

Fergus McCreadie

Jazz Album of the Year

Matt Ridley “The Antidote”

Daniel Casimir “Boxed In”

Jo Harrop “The Heart Wants”

Jazz Ensemble of the Year

Kansas Smitty’s House Band

Black Top

Nikki Iles Jazz Orchestra

Jazz Newcomer of the Year

Deschanel Gordon

Alex Clarke

Emma Rawicz

Chelsea Carmichael

Jazz Venue of the Year

Toulouse Lautrec

The Globe, Newcastle upon Tyne

The Verdict, Brighton

Jazz Media Award

The Jazz Podcast

London Jazz News

Jane Cornwell

Jazz Education Award

Jazz Camp For Girls  – Helena Summerfield – Jazz North

Nikki Yeoh

Pete Churchill

Services to Jazz Award

Mike Westbrook

Help Musicians

Dave Green

Nigel Price


For further information please contact:

Chris Hodgkins
Tel: 0208 840 4643

Notes to editors

The All Party Parliamentary Jazz Group (APPJG) currently has over 116 members from the House of Commons and House of Lords across all political parties. Their aim is to encourage wider and deeper enjoyment of jazz, to increase Parliamentarians’ understanding of the jazz industry and issues surrounding it, to promote jazz as a musical form and to raise its profile inside and outside Parliament. The Group’s officers as at the Annual General Meeting on 1st March 2022 are Co-Chairs, John Spellar MP and Lord Mann, Secretary, Sir Greg Knight MP, Vice Chairs, Alison Thewless MP, Chi Onwurah MP, Lord McNicol and  Patrick Grady MP, the Treasurer is Ian Paisley MP. Officers are Lord Colwyn, Lord Alton  and Sarah Champion MP.

The Secretariat is Chris Hodgkins with the assistance of Louis Flood, Ali Bland and Aoife Forbes. The contact address is: the web address is:

All-Party Parliamentary Groups are informal groups of Members of both Houses with a common interest in particular issues. The views expressed in this report are those of the group. This is not an official publication of the House of Commons or the House of Lords. It has not been approved by either House or its committees.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.